top of page

Strength for the New Year, 2018!

I hope that all of you had a good start to 2018! I am officially shifting my blog to https://chantalmag.blogspot.sg in February and closing this blog. Future posts will all be posted there so do take note!

Please bear with me as I am still in the midst of transferring my previous blog posts over one at a time. Wix doesn't allow you to export your posts across to other blogs, so you have to manually copy and paste your posts over to the new platform.

Lately, I have been going through a rough patch especially during my transition into 2018. Hard disk crashed on the last day of 2017, pending recovery of important data from my hard disk, falling sick time and again, mum going to hospital, searching for a new career direction and more. However, I am grateful that these incidents have given me the determination to make things better in 2018.

One of my biggest takeaways from 2017 was finding my passion for writing, photography and attending events, learning about different products, places, food, as well as mingling with people who share the same interests.

During a food tasting with @decipherkieffer, @rachaelwong & @yongkaiiii

During our travel trip at Berjaya Hotel Kuala Lumpur with @mselaineheng & @mshannahchia

So happy that we started our monthly hawker trails at @eatmoresg !

With the awesome peeps on the sunset cruise at Langkawi by @tropicalchartersofficial !

On the last day of our trip at Langkawi Berjaya Resort! It was truly memorable, fun and amazing!

Celebrating @decipherkieffer and my birthdays with @shitty_vince & @xavierrrrtan

A December babies photo at @william82sg awesome birthday party!

I am truly grateful for all the wonderful opportunities that were shared with me such that I could expose myself more in this area of interest! - On the flip side, it is easy to be carried away by things you really enjoy. There is always a need to maintain a balance. Hence, this year I am hoping to get a stable foothold to prepare for the next phase of my life.

Another milestone achieved in 2017 was the conclusion of our 4 years of long-distance relationship! Bry and I can finally see each other more often, rather than being apart for 3 to 10 months before we next see each other. - Similarly, life has to go on and both of us have to work on the next goal together and that is saving enough for our future!

Life is both wonderful and a constant battlefield at the same time. I read a quote from a book recently and it says, "People do not persevere because they are strong. They become strong because they persevered." I can't agree more to that and it actually gave me strength amidst all the trials I am going through.

Therefore, I urge everyone who may be going through tough times now as you read this... to hang on and keep going, until you are strong enough to say I have grown so much from these experiences.

Just one more thing I'd like to share in this reflection post is the power of love and forgiveness. Just two days ago, someone that I am very close to said something hurtful to me. However, I had a surreal feeling of calmness within me. I told myself it is OK to feel angry at that moment but do not say anything hurtful back. With that peace within me, I decided to approach him after approximately 45 minutes. I did not utter a word of blame or anger, instead, I asked if everything was OK on his side? I even added that I believe it was unlike his usual self, in order to separate the wrongful act from him. At that moment, he apologised. I really felt the love flowing through and the outcome was nothing short of beautiful. I had forgiven him the moment he was hurting me and I hope this sense of peace, love and forgiveness will remain in any other situations in future. I hope it will also inspire others to try this approach next time if someone said or done something hurtful to you.

To a stronger and joyful 2018!

Thanks @decipherkieffer for the lovely photos of me in Johor ! :)

Peace, mag.

bottom of page